Bosses or marketers can consider Return On Investment (ROI) to evaluate the effectiveness of promotional activities. One of the greatest advantages of online advertising is providing data support to evaluate the effectiveness of the activities. By calculating ROI, promotional budget can be planned easily.
ROI measures the ratio of a company’s profits on the amount of money invested. Generally speaking, result of ROI can be represented in percentage (%). The higher the ROI percentage, the higher the return on investment.
An online travel agency places $20,000 monthly advertising budget (Cost of Investment) on Yahoo search marketing.
The number of monthly clicks received is 8,000 according to the monthly search marketing report.
Assuming 10% of the 8,000 clicks becomes potential customers, of which 6% commits to business transactions, as such there will be 48 transactions each month.
If the average business revenue per transaction is $4,000, the total revenue is $192,000.
If the net profit is 40% of the revenue, the total net profit will be $76,800.